Reflecta iPad-Scanner test review

With the iPadScan in May 2012 the German scanner manufacturer Reflecta released a first scanner for the Apple iPad. If one compares the size and shape with known scanner-models, at first glance the iPadScan seems to be a relatively little, handy, tube-shaped scanner (weight: 680g) with an approximately diameter of a mature fist. The little bow shaped support foot at the backside of the scanner takes care of sufficient stability. On the desk the scanner takes just a little space and also optically shapes well as iPad-docking station.


The Reflecta iPad-Scanner is available in our online-shop.

Besides the scanner (measurements 11,1 x 7,3 x 30,8 cm) the following is included in the scope of delivery: a USB-cable, a calibration card, a cleaning card, a cleaning strip, a picture case (usable area 18,4 x 13 cm) for breakable or undersized submittals and a short user guide in different languages. This one is primarily concerned with the operation of the scanner. For information about the nursing, maintenance or the calibration of the device a user guide in detail can be downloaded via the Reflecta-support site in PDF-format.

Installation and operation of the Reflecta iPad-scanner

Reflecta iPadScan

The scanner is to be connected to the power supply via the included USB-cable and the iPad-USB-power adapter, which isn't included in the scope of delivery. After enduring pressing of the power-button of the scanner, the button begins to glow constantly blue - the scanner is operational. After the iPad is set onto the scanner via the 30-pin docking-connection and is turned on, a little window appears for getting forwarded to the necessary app i-Scan via the own iTunes-Store-account. This one can be downloaded and installed for free. IPadScan and iPad are now ready for the scanning process. At less than 20% battery charge the iPad should nevertheless be charged prior to the scanning process.

Before utilization of the calibration card, the cleaning card and the picture case the protection foil shall be removed!

With the iPadScan invigilator submittals up to a size of 21.59 x 35.56 cm can be digitized, which includes the DIN A4 format. Therefore common documents can be scanned in whole without problems. Thereby however the authorized paper depth of 0,08 up to 0,6 mm shouldn't be exceeded, to prevent damages or paper jams at the device.

For the picture sampling a RGB-LED light source in combination with a CIS-sensor is used, which scans the submittals with the fix preferences of 300 dpi and 24-bit color depth as file format JPEG. Then the saved files can be found in the picture-bibliotheca of the iPads.

If one wants to use the scanner as charging station, it has to be turned off before the iPad is connected. In the preview the iPad before had to be set often to the standby-mode, but after than could be absolutely normal turned on and used on the docking-station. At longer inactivity the scanner turns off automatically, but doesn't start the charging process of the iPads automatically, so that one has to dock the iPad once again off and on.

Scanning with the Reflecta iPadScan

After turning on the scanner and starting the i-Scan App the scanning can begin. With the help of two little paper positioning levers which stuck out of the indention port of the scanner now the submittal can be positioned even more exactly, to guarantee a quite straight indention. Now the document will be pulled in a little. By pressing the button Scanning the submittal will be moved through the scanner and will be pushed out again on the backside. According to the manufacturer statements 6 pages per minute can be digitized in this matter - a realistic value if one works quickly.

Reflecta iPadScan

Now the picture appears on the iPad as real time-preview (see image aside) and after a short processing time can be ether discarded or stored in the photo bibliotheca. The reflective documents thereby will be cut at the same time. Also at usage of the included picture case only the actual motive will be stored. But a correct clipping is happening only if the picture was currently moved into the scanner, otherwise unpleasant black strip borders are shown in the sloping stored picture. In addition to that the scanned pictures can't be aligned, correction cut or turned in the scan-software.

If submittals get stuck in the scanner, which mostly occurs for bigger formats, this means a sloppy picture indention and so a sloppy alignment. But the submittal can be easily turned out of the indention port of the scanner, after this one has stopped the indention process. Furthermore indention problems for documents can occur if these aren't even at their indention side but slightly curved.

The picture quality of the Reflecta iPad-scanner

Documents, which were digitalized with the iPad-scanner, possess a pleasing sharpness and color scheme. The quality is always appropriate for further usage in bureau all day work.

Reflecta iPadScan

Color pictures appear slightly too dark and are a bit too saturated. At a closer look also very often difference clouds are visible in the complete spectral colors, which in most times are spread over the whole motive. This doesn't attract much attention for color pictures, but it does for black and white and pictures with less coloring as well as for bigger homogenous areas. Unfortunately a new calibration and a cleaning of the device couldn't terminate the problem. The image besides shows a 100% extraction (red area) of a scanned photo via mouse click. One remarkably recognizes the color errors through the sky full of clouds of the picture, which the iPad-scanner produces.

A further shortage is the fact, that pictures are often scanned with black border stripes, because the alignment of the submittals can't be controlled exactly despite the two paper leading levers.

So for the evaluation of the picture quality of the reflecta iPad-scanner one quickly gets to the result that this isn't sufficient for the scanning of photos or color pictures. But for the application of the iPad-scanner in office all day use, to quickly can a file or a letter, the picture quality of the iPad-scanner is fully sufficient.

Calibration, maintanance and care of the Reflecta iPadScan

The calibration of the iPadScan is done quickly and uncomplicated by the help of the download-user guide. By a click on the preferences icon of the App one chooses calibration, pushes the calibration card into the scanner and clicks on calibration. According to the manufacturer the calibration should be done if dark lines or stripes are visible on the scanned pictures. Hereby one should remember that no real color calibration of the device is happening, because therefor a calibration-target and corresponding software would be necessary.

The tubes of the scanner can be cleaned with a cleaning card. With a click on cleaning in the App-preferences this one will be pushed into the port according to the guide and by a click on cleaning the cleaning is done after a few seconds. For the lens cleaning one uses the included cleaning strip, which is to be pushed into the exit port of the turned off iPadScan and is moved to the right and left.

Summary, conclusion

The handling and the operation of the scanner is kept simple and pleasing. If it's a matter of scanning of documents, the iPadScan delivers pleasing results. Also for one or another digitizing of photos, which one quickly wants to send over the Internet, the Reflecta iPad-scanner is appropriate.

Nevertheless if it's a matter of archiving bigger amounts of photos in good quality, the iPadScan is not recommended because its handling and scan quality. The disturbing difference clouds and the not existing preferences possibilities at the scanning process show this outstandingly. Also sloppy scanned pictures could be summarized at enduring work with the device, which often leads to additional scan. In addition to that the scanned pictures can't be turned in the scan-software. This is disappointing, because today one can expect this feature to exist and it could be without excuse included in the software.

The iPadScan however is relatively little, but it is quite difficult to imagine to get it into the brief case of travelling salesmen. This is foremost the case if one remembers that a hearty grab of the smartphone is also sufficient for quick photographing of documents.

So the main intended operation of the iPadScan is merely at home at the working place, where documents and also one or another photo will be scanned in a comfortable and easy way and will be made available for businessmen respectively family members. As iPad-docking-station the iPad-Scanner performs well in all cases, nevertheless because of the well done design.

Back to the film scanner tests index

High-End Scan-Service

Reflecta iPad-Scanner Testbericht

Im Mai 2012 brachte der deutsche Scanner-Hersteller Reflecta mit dem iPadScan einen ersten Scanner für das Apple iPad auf den Markt. Wenn man die Größe und Form mit bekannten Scanner-Modellen vergleicht, erscheint der iPadScan auf den ersten Blick als relativ kleiner handlicher Scanner (Gewicht: 680g) in Röhrenform mit einem geschätzten Durchmesser einer erwachsenen Faust. Der kleine bogenförmige Stützfuß auf der Rückseite des Scanners sorgt für ausreichende Stabilität. Auf dem Schreibtisch nimmt der Scanner wenig Platz in Anspruch und macht sich optisch auch gut als iPad-Dockingstation.


Der Reflecta iPad-Scanner ist in unserem Online-Shop erhältlich.

Im Lieferumfang sind neben dem Scanner (Abmessungen 11,1 x 7,3 x 30,8 cm) enthalten: ein USB-Kabel, eine Kalibrierungskarte, eine Reinigungskarte, ein Reinigungsstreifen, eine Bildhülle (Nutzfläche 18,4 x 13 cm) für brüchige oder zu kleine Vorlagen und eine Kurzanleitung in verschiedenen Sprachen. Diese befasst sich ausschließlich mit der Inbetriebnahme des Scanners. Für Informationen über die Pflege, Wartung oder die Kalibrierung des Gerätes lässt sich eine ausführlichere Anleitung über die Reflecta-Support Seite im PDF-Format herunterladen.

Installation und Inbetriebnahme des Reflecta iPad-Scanners

Reflecta iPadScan

Der Scanner wird mit dem beiliegenden USB-Kabel und dem iPad-USB-Netzteil, welches nicht im Lieferumfang enthalten ist, an die Stromversorgung angeschlossen. Nach längerem Drücken auf die Power-Taste des Scanners fängt diese an konstant blau zu leuchten der Scanner ist betriebsbereit. Nachdem das iPad über den 30-poligen Dock-Anschluss auf den Scanner gesetzt und eingeschaltet wird, erscheint ein kleines Fenster mit dem man über das eigene iTunes-Store-Konto zur benötigten App i-Scan weitergeleitet wird. Diese lässt sich kostenlos herunterladen und installieren. IPadScan und iPad sind nun für den Scanvorgang bereit. Bei weniger als 20% Batterieleistung, sollte das iPad jedoch vor dem Scan-Vorgang aufgeladen werden.

Vor Benutzung der Kalibrierungskarte, der Reinigungskarte und der Bildhülle sollten die Schutzfolien entfernt werden!

Mit dem iPadScan lassen sich Aufsichtvorlagen bis zu einer Größe von 21,59 x 35,56 cm digitalisieren, welches das DIN A4 Format mit einschließt. Gewöhnliche Dokumente lassen sich daher auch ohne Probleme im Ganzen einscannen. Dabei sollte die zulässige Papierstärke von 0,08 bis 0,6 mm jedoch nicht überschritten werden, um Schäden oder Papierstaus am Gerät zu vermeiden.

Für die Bildabtastung wird eine RGB-LED Lichtquelle in Kombination mit einem CIS-Sensor genutzt, der die Vorlagen mit den festen Einstellungen mit 300 dpi und 24-Bit Farbtiefe als Dateiformat JPEG einscannt. Die gespeicherten Daten finden sich dann in der Bilder-Bibliothek des iPads wieder.

Will man den Scanner als Lade-Station nutzen, muss man diesen ausschalten bevor man das iPad anschließt. Im Test musste das iPad dafür aber vorher oftmals in den Standby-Modus versetzt werden, konnte jedoch daraufhin ganz normal auf der Docking-Station angeschaltet und benutzt werden. Bei längerer Inaktivität schaltet sich der Scanner auch automatisch aus, startet aber den Ladevorgang des iPads nicht automatisch, sodass man das iPad nochmal ab- und wieder andocken muss.

Scannen mit dem Reflecta iPadScan

Nach Einschalten des Scanners und Starten der i-Scan App kann das Scannen beginnen. Mithilfe zwei kleiner Papierpositionierungshebel, die aus dem Einzugsschlitz des Scanners herausragen kann man die Vorlage nun noch genauer positionieren, um einen möglichst geraden Einzug zu gewährleisten. Die Vorlage wird nun ein Stück eingezogen. Mit einem Druck auf die Schaltfläche Scannen wird die Auflage durch den Scanner geführt und auf der Rückseite wieder ausgegeben. Laut Herstellerangabe lassen sich auf diese Weise 6 Seiten pro Minute digitalisieren ein realistischer Wert, wenn man zügig arbeitet.

Reflecta iPadScan

Das Bild erscheint nun auf dem iPad in Echtzeit-Vorschau (siehe nebenstehende Abbildung) und lässt sich nach kurzer Verarbeitungszeit entweder verwerfen oder in der Foto-Bibliothek speichern. Die Aufsichtvorlagen werden dabei gleichzeitig beschnitten. Auch bei Benutzung der mitgelieferten Bildhülle wird nur das eigentliche Motiv gespeichert. Eine korrekte Beschneidung findet jedoch nur statt, wenn das Bild gerade in den Scanner geführt wurde, ansonsten zeigen sich unschöne schwarze Streifenränder in dem schiefen gespeicherten Bild. Hinzu kommt, dass sich die gescannten Bilder in der Scan-Software nicht ausrichten, korrektur-beschneiden oder drehen lassen.

Falls Vorlagen im Scanner hängen bleiben, was meist bei größeren Formaten der Fall sein kann, deutet dies auf einen schrägen Bildeinzug und somit auf eine schräge Ausrichtung hin. Die Vorlage lässt sich aber wieder leicht aus dem Einzugsschlitz des Scanners ziehen, nachdem dieser den Einzugvorgang gestoppt hat. Desweiteren können Einzugsprobleme bei Dokumenten vorkommen, wenn diese an ihrer Einzugsseite nicht plan sondern leicht gewölbt sind.

Die Bildqualität des Reflecta iPad-Scanners

Dokumente, die mit den iPad-Scanner digitalisiert worden sind, besitzen eine zufriedenstellende Schärfe und Farbgebung. Die Qualität reicht für die Weiterverwendung im Büroalltag allemal aus.

Reflecta iPadScan

Farbbilder erscheinen etwas zu dunkel und etwas zu übersättigt. Bei genauerem Hinschauen sind auch sehr oft Differenzwolken in sämtlichen Spektralfarben sichtbar, welche sich meistens über das gesamte Motiv erstrecken. Dies fällt bei Farbbildern nicht so stark auf, wohl jedoch bei Schwarzweiß- und farbarmen Bildern sowie in größeren homogenen Flächen. Eine Neukalibrierung und eine Reinigung des Gerätes konnten das Problem leider nicht beseitigen. Die nebenstehende Abbildung zeigt per Mausklick einen 100% Ausschnitt (roter Bereich) eines eingescannten Fotos. Am wolkenbehangenen Himmel des Bildes erkennt man deutlich die Farbfehler, die der iPad-Scanner produziert.

Ein weiteres Manko ist die Tatsache, dass Bilder oft mit schwarzen Randstreifen eingescannt werden, da die Ausrichtung der Vorlagen sich trotz der zwei Papierführungshebel nicht sehr genau steuern lässt.

So kommt man bei der Beurteilung der Bildqualität des reflecta iPad-Scanners schnell zum Ergebnis, dass diese für das Einscannen von Fotos oder Farbbildern unzureichend ist. Für den Einsatz des iPad-Scanners im Büroalltag, um schnell eine Akte oder einen Brief einzuscannen, reicht die Bildqualität des iPad-Scanners jedoch völlig aus.

Kalibrierung, Wartung und Pflege des Reflecta iPadScan

Die Kalibrierung des iPadScan verläuft mithilfe der Download-Anleitung schnell und unkompliziert. Mit einem Klick auf das Einstellungs-Icon der App wählt man Kalibrieren aus, führt die Kalibrierungskarte in den Scanner ein und klickt auf Kalibrieren. Die Kalibrierung sollte laut Hersteller durchgeführt werden, falls dunkle Linien oder Streifen auf den gescannten Bildern zu sehen sind. Hierbei sollte man jedoch bedenken, dass keine wirkliche Farbkalibrierung des Gerätes stattfindet, da hierfür ein Kalibrierungs-Target und entsprechende Software nötig wäre.

Die Rollen des Scanners lassen sich mit der Reinigungskarte säubern. Mit einem Klick auf Säubern unter den App-Einstellungen wird diese nach Anleitung in den Einzugschlitz geführt, und mit einem Klick auf Säubern ist die Reinigung nach wenigen Sekunden beendet. Für die Linsenreinigung nutzt man den beiliegenden Reinigungsstreifen, der in den Ausgangsschlitz des ausgeschalteten iPadScan geschoben und nach rechts und links bewegt wird.

Zusammenfassung, Fazit

Die Handhabung und die Inbetriebnahme des Scanners ist einfach und angenehm gehalten. Wenn es um das Scannen von Dokumenten geht, dann liefert der iPadScan zufriedenstellende Ergebnisse. Auch für die ein oder andere Digitalisierung von Fotos, die man schnell mal über das Internet verschicken möchte, bietet sich der Reflecta iPad-Scanner an.

Wenn es allerdings um die Archivierung größerer Fotomengen in guter Qualität geht, ist der iPadScan aufgrund seiner Handhabung und Scanqualität nicht zu empfehlen. Die störenden Differenzwolken und die nicht vorhandenen Einstellmöglichkeiten beim Scanvorgang zeigen dies deutlich. Auch schief eingescannte Bilder könnten sich bei längerem Arbeiten mit dem Gerät häufen, was oft zu einem Zusatzscan führt. Hinzu kommt, dass sich die eingescannten Bilder nicht in der Scan-Software drehen lassen. Dies ist enttäuschend, da man dieses Feature heutzutage erwarten kann und in der Software auch ohne weiteres leicht hätte untergebracht werden können.

Der iPadScan ist zwar relativ klein, lässt sich jedoch nur schwer in der Aktentasche von reisenden Geschäftsleuten vorstellen. Dies gilt vor allem, wenn man bedenkt, dass sich ein beherzter Griff zum Smartphone für das schnelle Abfotografieren von Dokumenten auch eignet.

Das Haupteinsatzgebiet des iPadScan findet sich also eher zu Hause am Arbeitsplatz, wo Dokumente und auch die ein oder anderen Fotos auf bequeme und schnelle Weise eingescannt und Geschäftspartnern bzw. Angehörigen zugänglich gemacht werden können. Als iPad-Docking-Station macht sich der iPad-Scanner auf alle Fälle sehr gut, nicht zuletzt wegen seines gut gelungenen Designs.

Zurück zum Inhaltsverzeichnis Filmscanner-Testberichte

High-End Scan-Service